PHONE: 0030 210 920 6000
IHG® TOLL FREE: 00 800 3122 1211


“Summerfolk” by Maxim Gorky at the Onassis Cultural Centre

It is a rare occasion when young and old can attend the same theatrical performance and both derive such pleasure. That, however, is exactly what happens with Maxim Gorky’s “Summerfolk” at the Onassis Cultural Centre. Gorky’s protagonists appear to be mired in ego and stuck in their own little worlds – until the moment they begin to be aware of the wider world around them and feel the necessity of taking action. But can they really manage to escape themselves?

More information


Combining the famous libretto of Giuseppe Giacosa and Luigi Illica with the renowned music of Giacomo Puccini, “Tosca” is one of the most widely loved Italian opera, with adoring fans among both music-lovers and musicians alike. This opera in three acts was first performed in 1800 in the era it portrays and refers to the painter Mario Cavaradossi, the lover of Tosca, a well-known singer of that period. When Cavaradossi is sentenced to death, and Tosca is unable to save him, distraught and in despair, she kills herself. The New National Opera’s “Tosca” opens on the 26th of January as part of a wider tribute to famed director and set-designer Stefanos Lazaridis. A stellar cast has been assembled for this production, among them Cellia Costea in the title role, Pavel Černoch and Dimitris Paksoglou in alternating performances and Dimitris Tiliakos in the role of Baron Scarpia. This captivating work is hosted in the dazzling new home of the New National Opera at The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center.

More information

The Budapest Festival Orchestra with soloist Radu Lupu at The Athens Concert Hall

For decades now, the system of musical education in Hungary has produced outstanding orchestras and extraordinary musicians who perform all over the world, always garnering ecstatic reviews from leading music critics. The Budapest Festival Orchestra, conducted by Iván Fischer, is coming to The Athens Concert Hall for a single performance on January 19, featuring the piano soloist Radu Lupu, considered one of the finest interpreters of Chopin worldwide. On the 19th, the Orchestra will present Johann Sebastian Bach’s Orchestral Suite no. 2, Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto in A minor, and Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Symphony no. 2 in E minor.

More information